Authorities in the UAE have issued a clarification after a social media claim about Oreo biscuits being a non-halal product went viral, the local news agencies said.
“It has been circulated recently that Oreo biscuits are not halal, because they contain pork and alcohol. We inform you … that this is incorrect,” the UAE Ministry of Climate Change and Environment (MoCCAE) said.
The ministry said Oreo biscuits do not contain any animal-origin ingredients or derivatives such as grease and fat.
A laboratory examination of the product confirmed that it conformed to what was mentioned on the food label.“The ministry confirms that all imported and traded foods are subject to an integrated system of procedures and programmes that ensure the highest safety standards and conformity with the approved specifications in the country,” the ministry said.
The MoCCAE called on the public to avoid circulating any news without verifying its credibility.