34 C
Saturday, May 27, 2023

Mumbai Indians become first champions of WPL

Mumbai Indians 134 for 3 (Sciver-Brunt 60*, Harmanpreet 37) beat Delhi Capitals 131 for 9 (Lanning 35, Pandey 27*, Radha 27*, Matthews 3-5, Wong 3-42) by seven wickets

Harmanpreet Kaur’s team had upstaged Meg Lanning’s, finally. What looked like a one-sided fare turned out to be quite the nail-biter, as the grand final ended in a last-over finish few would’ve thought was possible at one stage.

Delhi Capitals were on life support at 79 for 9. If this had been a wrestling bout, this is the point it would’ve been called off. But sensational efforts from Shikha Pandey and Radha Yadav helped them post a total of 131. From there, their bowlers took it down to the final two overs with Mumbai needing 21.

Having held on for so long, Capitals crumbled at this most crucial moment as Nat Sciver-Brunt exhibited a fine combination of calm and cheek. After steadying the innings with a 52-ball half-century, she swept the first ball of the 19th over from Jess Jonassen to the boundary. It had a deflating effect on the Capitals.

Amelia Kerr managed to pick off two more fours to take them to the doorstep. Sciver-Brunt then fittingly finished the game off when she paddled Alice Capsey past short fine. She remained unbeaten on 60 as Mumbai bossed their way to the inaugural WPL title.

Women’s Premier League 2023 stats: Most runs – Meg Lanning (345) | Highest average – Nat Sciver-Brunt (66.4) | Highest SR – Shafali Verma (185.29) | Highest score – Sophie Ecclestone 99(36) vs Gujarat Giants | Most sixes – Shafali Verma (13), Sophie Devine (13) | Most wickets – Hayley Matthews (16), Ecclestone (16) | Best figures – Marizzane Kapp (5/15) vs Gujarat Giants

Latest news
Related news